<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%> Louisiana Racing Commission

About the Louisiana Racing Commission

The Louisiana State Racing Commission was created by legislative act in 1940.   The Commission is composed of thirteen members, one representing each Congressional district plus 2 at-large and 4 representing each of the parishes where live racing is held.  All are appointed by the Governor, subject to State Senate confirmation.

The official domicile of the Commission is in New Orleans, and its' office is currently located at 320 North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, 70119-5100.

The Racing Commission's legal mandate is the forceful and honest statewide control of horse racing for the public health, safety, and welfare by safeguarding the citizens of Louisiana against corrupt, incompetent, dishonest and unprincipled horse racing practices.

Some of the ways the Racing Commission accomplishes its' legal mandate is by assuring the public and horsemen of Louisiana that:

1.   each racing association conducting a race meeting is licensed and operated by responsible management, and does its utmost to provide the patrons, horses and horsemen the best possible facilities it can afford;

2.   the wagering management, clerks and equipment inspire patron confidence in the betting system;

3.   every owner and trainer seeking to enter a horse in competition is licensed, is a person of good character and is financially responsible;

4.   every horse appearing in a race is the animal it is represented to be on the program, is carrying the correct weight as assigned by the track handicapper, and is physically fit and able to participate in a race;

5.   every race run represents a true competitive effort by every participating horse and rider;

6.   during the running of any race no rider commits any act that would unfairly tend to make the race anything other than a true competitive test;

7.   no one responsible for the custody of a competing horse has administered, or allowed to be administered, any prescribed medication to it within a specified time prior to the race; nor administered, or allowed to be administered, any illegal substance to it at any time;

8.   no one who may be able to affect the outcome of a race is under the influence of any illegal substance or alcohol.


- Edward J. Koehl, Jr., Chairman, New Orleans (At-Large)
- Dr. Patrick Bernard, DVM, 2nd Vice Chairman, Carencro (At-Large)

- Rock M. Bordelon, Commissioner, Bossier City (District 4)
- Leslie P. Bouie, Commissioner, New Orleans (Orleans Parish)
- Larry L. Findley, Sr., DVM, Commissioner, Vinton (Calcasieu Parish)

- K.R. "Ron" Finkelstein, O.D., Commissioner, Metairie (District 1)
- Nathan C. Granger, Commissioner, Abbeville (At-Large)

- Earl A. "Boo" Landry, Jr. , Commissioner, Erath (District 3)
- Mike R. McHalffey, Commissioner, Benton (Bossier Parish)
- Travis K. Miller, DVM, Commissioner, Lawtell (St. Landry Parish)
- Deano Thornton, Commissioner, Winnfield (District 5)
- Vincent V. Tumminello, Jr., M.D., Commissioner, Baton Rouge (District 6)
- Katherine L. Winters, Commissioner, New Orleans (District 2)

- Stephen Landry, Executive Director
- Gerald J. Calogero, Assistant Executive Director

- Michael J. Dildy, Director of Administration
- Patrick B. Stanley, Chief Auditor
- Brett Bonin
, Assistant Attorney General

- Leroy Hollins II, Information Technology Director

Copyright 2003 LRC | Legal Disclaimer

Audit Reports

+ View Monthly Handle Report Download Report
+ View Video Poker Purse Report Download Report


Strategic Plan

+ View Strategic Plan

Download Plan



+ Legal - Disclaimer

View Disclaimer