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The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the 
following emergency rule effective May 13, 2009, and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or until this 
rule takes effect through the normal promulgation process, whichever comes first. 
 
     The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it necessary to amend this rule. The disparity in jockey 
mount fees between Louisiana and neighboring states is posing an immediate threat to Louisiana losing 
its pool of qualified jockeys. The change in fees represents a settlement among industry participants to 
thwart the threat of a jockey strike which would halt Louisiana racing. 
 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 
Part XLI.  Horseracing Occupations  

Chapter 7. Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys  
§725. Jockey Fee Schedule 

A. Prior to the start of each race conducted by an association licensed by the commission, sufficient 
money shall be on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper in an amount equal to pay the losing mount 
fee of a jockey for that race. In the absence of a special agreement, the fee of a jockey shall be as follows. 

Purse Win Second Third Unplaced 

$400 and under $27 $19 $17 $16 
500 30 20 17 16 
600 36 22 17 16 

700-900 10% 25 22 20 
1,000-1,400 10% 30 25 22 
1,500-1,900 10% 35 30 28 
2,000-3,400 10% 45 35 33 
3,500-4,900 10% 70 60 50 

 5,000-9,900 10%  80 65 60 

10,000-14,900 10% 5% 70  65 

15,000-24,900 10% 5% 5%  70 
25,000-49,900 10% 5% 5%  75 
50,000-99,900 10% 5% 5%  90 
100,000 and up 10% 5% 5% 115 

 



B. Failure, refusal and/or neglect of a trainer to timely deposit or have deposited the aforesaid jockey 
fee for a horse entered to race, on or before the time specified herein, shall be a violation of this Section. 
Each such violation shall be punishable by a fine of not less than $200 and the failure to pay such fine 
within 48 hours of imposition thereof shall be grounds for suspension. Additionally, an amount equal to 
the jockey fee actually earned by the jockey in accordance with the aforesaid schedule shall be paid to the 
jockey earning same within 48 hours of the imposition of the aforesaid fine, and failure to pay said jockey 
fee within the time specified herein shall be an additional grounds for suspension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 4:148, R.S. 4:150 and R.S. 4:151. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 1971, promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 2:431 (December 1976), amended LR 3:28 (January 1977), LR 4:276 (August 
1978), LR 5:23 (February 1979), LR 12:12 (January 1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Racing Commission, LR 16:112 (February 1990). 
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  `   Executive Director 

 


